EC slaps notices on 3 AP Ministers for poll code violation

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, May 22 (UNI) The Election Commission today served notices on three Andhra Pradesh Ministers seeking explanation for alleged violation of the Model Code of Conduct by them.

The EC, through State Chief Electoral Officer I V Subba Rao, asked Ministers K Rosaiah, K Jana Reddy and P Lakshmaiah to submit their explanations latest by 1700 hrs on May 24, Mr Rao told reporters here.

Mr Rosaiah was served the notice for reportedly telling the media that the Government had an action plan to curb price rise and was unable to announce it as the poll code was in force, he said.

The other two Ministers had addressed an election meeting from a government school in Warangal allegedly in violation of the poll code, Mr Rao said.

The District Collector and the Superintendent of Police were asked to submit a detailed report to the EC through him by tomorrow evening explaining the circumstances under which they allowed the meeting.

Denying the charge that poll code violations were more than states like Bihar, he said they were making all out efforts to implement the poll code in letter and spirit.

Prompt action had been initiated against the guilty whenever violations were brought to their notice.

He said 32 persons were arrested, 111 cases registered and 349 litre of illicit liquor seized in Mahboobnagar District.

In the ten poll-bound districts, as many as 66,000 posters, 2,000 banners, 36 cutouts, 12 hoardings and 1,800 wall rightings were removed and 15 vehicles seized so far, he informed.

Mr Rao, who also reviewed the preparation of photo electoral rolls in 18 districts, said the exercise would be completed by September to ensure no voter in the state was without electoral photo identity card during the 2009 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in the State.


Please Wait while comments are loading...