Over 11 lakh voters to cast vote in Hamirpur LS by-polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, May 21 (UNI) An estimated 11,72,944 electors will cast their vote for the Hamirpur Parliamentary Constituency byelection tomorrow.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Manisha Nanda today said that out of the total electors, 5,88,149 are male electors and 5,84,795 are female electors. The electors, includes 11,49,329 general electors, 23,615 service and 307 electors above the age of 100 years, she added.

The by-polls was necessitated following the resignation of Mr Prem Kumar Dhumal from Lok Sabha after his election to the state assembly last year.

The polling will commence at 0800 hours and close at 1700 hours.

Ms Nanda said total 1,373 polling stations had been set up in the 17 Assembly segments of Hamirpur parliamentary constituency which, includes one auxiliary polling station of Gagret(SC) segment, and added that Una (general) assembly segments had maximum number of 96 polling stations.

179 polling stations had been declared as hyper sensitive, 303 as sensitive polling stations and rest of 891 polling stations were of ordinary nature, she said.

"Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful, free, fair and transparent elections," Ms Nanda said.

She said that 1611 Electronic Voting Machines had been provided for the polling stations, which includes reserve, and two EVMs had been provided in each remote polling station.

She said that 119 Sector Officers and 32 Sector Magistrates had been deputed for election duty. 168 buses, 178 jeep cars and 14 truck had been deployed to ensure smooth transporation of election related man and material.

Though there are four candidates in fray but the main contest is between BJP's Anurag Thakur, who is son of Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, and OP Ratan of Congress. The other two candidates are PC Kaundal of Bahujan Sakti Party and independent candidate Amin Chand.


Please Wait while comments are loading...