Change of AR military command in Manipur

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Imphal, May 21: Major General A K Choudhary took over the command of the Inspector General of Assam Rifles (South) at Mantripukhri here, the PRO of AR Colonel Pant said today.

Major General B K Chengapa relinquished the command of the IGAR(S) and has now moved to the HQ three Corps, the PRO added.

Major General Chengapa had been very successful in overseeing the ongoing counter-insurgency operations in the valley and hill districts of Manipur.

The highlight of his career was the clearance of the Samtal area from the clutches of the proscribed United National Liberation Front (UNLF).

The general officer also projected a humane image of the AR and made efforts to reach out to the people of Manipur.

He was instrumental in getting a large number of meaningful Military Civic Action Projects sanctioned and executed in the most far-flung areas of Manipur.

A large number of villages in remote areas had been provided with functional schools, computer centres and other amenities during his tenure.

For his dedicated efforts, he was awarded the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) by the President.

Incidentally, this was General Chengapa's second stint in Manipur as he had earlier commanded the 14 Garhwal Rifles in Churachandpur.

He had also been instrumental in encouraging sports and cultural activities in the state.

Major General A K Choudhary, SM, VSM, succeeded as IGAR (S) from Major General B K Chengapa.

The new IG is an alumni of the National Defence Academy and was commissioned into the MAHAR regiment.

He also commanded the 12 MAHAR in Jammu and Kashmir, Amritsar and eight AR while it was located at Imphal.

He commanded a sector of the Rastriya Rifles in Jammu and Kashmir and held crucial staff and instructional appointments in the Army.

He is a highly decorated soldier, having been conferred with the SM, VSM and CQAS Commendation Card.

The General Officer also has in-depth experience of handling counter-insurgency operations in Jammu and Kashmir and Manipur.


Please Wait while comments are loading...