President presents Ramnarayan Sharma Awards

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 20 (UNI) President Pratibha Patil today honoured five renowned ayurveda scholars by presenting them the Pandit Ramnarayan Sharma Awards for their contributions in the field of Ayurvedic education and treatment.

The award, instituted by Ram Narayan Vaidya Ayurveda Research Trust, Jhansi in memory of its founder, carries a cash reward of Rs 1.5 lakh, silver idol of Dhanvantari and a citation. The award is given for contribution in the field of ayurved practice, research and publication of books.

Presenting the award, the President regretted that Ayurveda was not getting adequate attention and popularity. She also called for standardisation and patenting of ayurvedic medicines.

The President expressed satisfaction for the efforts undertaken by the Trust in popularising Ayurveda.

H S Kastureji of Ahmedabad, Suresh Chaturvedi of Mumbai, Ram Hash Singh of Varanasi, Maya Ram Unniyal of Delhi and T L Devraj of Bangalore were the recipients of the prestigious award.

Since its inception in 1982, the trust has been encouraging students and scholars of various universities and ayurved acharya by giving cash awards and gold medals.

The trust has also promoted several charitable institutions for conducting clinical trials to find out the best talent in the field.


Please Wait while comments are loading...