Yavatmal girls go down fighting to Raigad in Junior State Basketball

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 15 (UNI) Raigad girls emerged victorious for the second time when they beat a gallant Yavatmal 23-22 in a pulsating tie, of the 59th Junior Maharashtra State Inter-District Basketball Championship, organised by the Greater Mumbai Central District Basketball Association, at the Naigaum Police Ground, Parel here today.

Raigad, who beat Nashik 21-20 in their opening tie on Tuesday, led 14-10 at half time, with the consistent Shilap Ghase scoring 10 points and Diksha Shilimkar contributing 11.

Yavatmal's P Dodawar, who top-scored with 20 points, waged a lone battle that went in vain, as Raigad fashioned their third consecutive win from as many matches.

Solapur boys endured a late challenge before overcoming Jalgaon 47-41 in a thrilling encounter. Solapur led 42-23 at half time, but Jalgaon came right back into the match with a late burst that narrowed the margin and fetched them 18 points with D Akash top scoring with 22.

Solapur, who added just five points in the third and fourth quarters, held on dearly as they struggled to keep the Jalgaon shooters at bay.

Ahmednagar too braved a late challenge before registering a 38-20 win over Bhandara, after leading by a substantial 26-6 at half time.

Dhule ran Thane close upto the half time as they trailed 24-36 at the interval. But they lost their way as Thane struck form and raced to a convincing 74-39 win.

Results: BOYS: Mumbai North 76 (Suryakumar Iyer 12, Kushal Shah 10) bt Wardha 14. HT: 39-8. Osmanabad 29 (Anil More 11, Sharad Sonavane 7) bt Gadchiroli 9. HT: 14-3. Thane 74 (Mukesh Patel 22, Sunit Menon 21) bt Dhule 39 (Sandip Patil 12). HT: 36-24. Mumbai South East 68 (M.

Shamsher 15, Zoheb Khan 10) bt Bhandara 4. HT: 47-4. Solapur 47 (S.

Anees 12, G. Akash 10) bt Jalgaon 41 (D. Akshay 22, Sameep Motha 7).

HT: 42-23. Mumbai Central 67 (Srikant Karte 11, Nikhil Aher 10) bt Sindhudurgh 16 (H. Kunal 10). HT: 14-8. Ahmednagar 38 (D. Bhise 11, Akash B. 7) bt Bhandara 20 (Shailesh B. 5). HT: 26-6. Pune 61 (Akshay Bhosale 13, Ashish Ramgide 12) bt Latur 14 (Sanket Shelke 6). HT: 37-12. Kolhapur 44 (Rohan Naikwade 8, Arshad Khan 8) bt Chandrapur 14 (Nishad Shendre 10).

GIRLS: Raigad 23 (Diksha Shilimkar 11, Shilpa Ghase 10) bt Yavatmal (P. Dodawar 20). HT: 14-10. Pune 68 (Divya Bhawiskar 10, Rutuiya Shah 10) bt Gondia 0. HT: 40-0. Thane 61 (Madhura Potdar 10, Kasturi More 10) bt Nanded 5. HT: 38-4. Sangli 21 (Hema Thakkar 10) bt Amravati 6 (Devayani Thorse 6). HT: 4-8.


Please Wait while comments are loading...