Stage set for phase II Assembly polls in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

{image-Karnataka boopadam_15052008.jpg}Bangalore, May 15: As many as 1,10,26,524 voters including 55,02,247 women will exercise their franchise in the second phase of polling held tomorrow for 66 Assembly seats in Karnataka.

The Polling, in 12,286 polling stations spread over 10 districts, will be held from 0700 hours to 1700 hours. As many as 589 candidates including Former Chief Ministers B S Yeddyurappa (BJP), S Bangarappa (SP), Lok Sabha members Venkatesh Naik, Basavaraj Patil Yatnal, Narasingarao Suryavamshi, G Karunakara Reddy, Ramesh Jigajinagi were in the fray. Political stalwarts from all the parties including Congress supremo Sonia Gandhi her son Rahul Gandhi, SP leaders Amar Singh, Jayaprada, BJP's L K Advani, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Hemamalini, U.P Chief Minister Mayavati, Union Ministers Ramvilas Paswan, P Chidambaram were among others who took up vigorous campaigning braving scorching heat.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Vidyashankar speaking to newsmen this evening said that all arrangements have been made to hold free and fair elections. The first phase election was held for 89 assembly elections in Karantaka on May 10 in which about 66 per cent of polling was recorded.The third and final phase polling for 69 assembly seats in the 224-member Karnataka assembly was scheduled to be held on May 22 in eight northern Karantaka districts.


Please Wait while comments are loading...