K'taka polls: Four former CMs sons in fray

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 14: As many as six off springs of four former Karnataka chief ministers, including former Prime minister H D Deve Gowda, were in the fray among 2253 contestants testing their electoral fortune to the 224-member Karnataka assembly.

While Samajawadi Party State President S Bangarappa's two sons-- film actor turned politician Kumara Bangarappa (Cong) and film Producer and Distributor turned politician Madhu Bangarappa (SP) were locked horn in Soraba in Shimoga District, late J H Patel's son Mahima Patel (Swarnayuga) is contesting from Davanagere going to polls in the second phase on May 16, late S R Bommai's son Basavaraj Bommai is testing his political fortune from Shigaon in the third phase of polling on May 22.

Mr Kumar Bangarappa, who is seeking re-election for the fourth time in a row from Congress ticket was challenged by his younger brother Madhu Bangarappa, who unsuccessfully trying his luck for the second time from the same constituency.

Mr Madhu Bangarappa, one of the noted film producer and distributor of the Kannada film industry also runs a state-of-the-art recording studio had plunged into state politics and unsuccessfully contested Sorab assembly seat in 2004 against his elder brother Kumar Bangarappa, who also had acted in over 25 cinemas as hero character.

Mr Kumara Bangarappa who also served as minister of state in S M Krishna's cabinet, earlier had switched over to BJP along with his father S Bangarappa for a brief stint before getting party ticket to contest once again from Sorab. He had defeated his brother Madhu Bangarappa by a margin of over 11900 votes in the 2004 elections.

Mr Madhu Bangarappa, a Samajwadi Party candidate was making all efforts to upset the apple cart of his elder brother Kumar Bangarappa this time was ably supported by his father S Bangarappa who is also contesting in the neighbouring Shikaripur assembly seat where BJP's chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa was struggling to retain his seat.

Mr Mahima Patel who had floated his own party, Swarnayuga, is contesting from Channagiri assembly constituency with Congress nominee Vadnal Rajanna was being his nearest rival. Mr Patel, in his attempt to retain the seat, has adopted Gandhian way of approaching voters. He is on fast ever since he filed his nomination papers from his newly floated party after resigning from JD(S) in protest over not transferring power to BJP as per the power-pact agreement.

While Mahima Patel observing fast in a make-shift tent ever since he filed his nomination, his supporters and sympathisers undertaking door-to-door campaign seeking votes for their leader. Reacting to his unique kind of method of facing elections in this high-profile and cost-prohibitive electioneering Mr Mahima Patel says that basically people love simplicity and have chosen to adopt it.

Mr Basavaraj Bommai, who was in JD(U) joined BJP and contesting from Shigaon for entry into the Assembly. He was elected twice to the Legislative Council from Graduate constituency on JD(U) ticket.

In the first phase elections held on May 10 the political fortune of two sons of former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda H D Kumaraswamy (Ramanagaram) and H D Revanna (Holenarasipura) were sealed in the ballot boxes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...