Male dominance continues

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gulbarga, May 13 (UNI) There seems to be no end to male dominance in politics in the near future.

This is evident from the fact that only two women have entered the fray for the Karnataka Assembly elections in this district, having 13 Assembly segments.

In the three backward districts of Gulbarga, Raichur and Bidar, there is only a ''symbolic'' representation of women in the elections.

Despite women constituting about half the population and outnumbering men in many segments, only two major political parties had given tickets to women in the second largest district of Gulbarga.

The Congress had given a ticket to Chandrika Parameshwar, a former Mayor of Gulbarga, and she is contesting from the reserved Gulbarga (Rural) constituency against BJP stalwart and three-time MLA Revu Naik and former minister and three-time MLA G Gurunath of the JD(S).

Talking to UNI, Ms Chandrika claimed that women voters in Gulbarga were sympathetic and would vote for her. ''I am contesting on a Congress ticket and our traditional voters will see me through,'' she added.

Another woman candidate M S Girijamma of JD(S) has pitted herself against leaders like Raju Gowda of the BJP and Raja Venkatappa Naik of the Congress in Shorapur Constituency.

During the 50-years of 'electoral' history of Gulbarga, after it was released from the ''clutches'' of the Hyderabad Nizams, only two women candidates -- Ms Vijaya Desai from Chittapur and Ms Lalita Bai from Kamalapur-- had entered the Assembly.

In Raichur district, only one woman candidate, Ms Sujata of BJP, is contesting the election against three time MP A Venkatesh Naik of Congress and his grandson Shivangoud Naik.

In Bidar district, the JD(S) has given a ticket to Ms Rajeswari Swamy, who is contesting from Bidar-North constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...