Sourav wins toss, elects to bat first

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 08 (UNI) Kolkata Knight Riders' skipper Sourav Ganguly won the toss and chose to bat first in the rain-curtailed 16-over DLF Indian Premier League match against Royal Challengers of Bangalore at the Eden Gardens here today.

The start was delayed by one hour and 45 minutes and the match curtailed by four overs due to heavy downpour.

Both teams desperately need a win. While after seven matches and halfway in the tournament, the visitors were now gasping with four points from two wins and stood at the bottom.

KKR's position too was not quite delightful, placed almost near the fag end with four defeats on a trot from six outings.

While the Riders effected two changes, bringing in Tatenda Taibu and Akash Chopra in place of Ajit Agarkar and Debabrata Das, the Royal Challengers also made as many changes inducting Shivnaraine Chanderpaul and Arun Kumar replacing Wasim Jaffer and C White.

Teams: Kolkata Knight Riders: Sourav Ganguly (C), Akash Chopra, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Tatenda Taibu, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Murli Kartik, Ashok Dinda, Umar Gul.

Twelfth man : Ajit Agarkar.

Royal Challengers: Rahul Dravid (C), Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Arun Kumar, Virat Kohli, Jaques Kallis, Misbah-ul-Haq, M Boucher, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, Dale Steyn. Twelfth man : B Chipli.


Please Wait while comments are loading...