K'taka Dist might throw up interesting results

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mangalore, May 5 (UNI) The Dakshina Kannada District in Karnataka is expected to throw mixed results much against all permutations and combinations of different political parties during the three-phase Assembly elections starting May 10 in the state due to delimitation of constituencies.

Each of the two major rival parties --the Congress and the BJP were confident of winning more than ten out of 13 seats in the undivided Dakshina Kannada,a stronghold of BJP in the last elections.

BJP State President Sadananda Gowdwa however claimed the party would sweep all 13 seats(eight in Dakshina Kannada and five in Udupi Districts after the delimitation).

Meanwhile, the Congress was claiming the party would get maximum number of seats in both the districts.

Five Former Ministers including DCC President B Ramanath Rai and B Nagaraja Shetty (Bantwal), K Amarnath Shetty (Moodabidre) and K Gangadhar Gowda (Belthangady) are trying their luck for re-entry to the Assembly.

While Dakshina Kannada was now reduced to having eight Assembly segments, the Udupi District is restricted to five consituencies.

With the delimitation, the total number of voters in Dakshina Kannada was reduced by 67,524 voters to 13,26,693 of which male voters numbered 6,88,774 and women voters 7,05,443.

The total number polling booths in the Dakshina Kannada District was 1,271. Sullya Constituency had the highest number of polling booths at 171 while Mangalore (earlier known as Ullal Constituency) had the lowest at 129.

After delimitation, except for Mangalore and Belthangady Constituencies, the remaining six constituencies in the district have been expanded with merger of several areas from the neighbouring constituencies.

The erstwhile Vittal Constituency in Dakshina Kannada was represented by Padmanabha Kottari from BJP while the earlier Bramhavar Constituency in Udupi District was held successively by Former Minister K Jayaprakash Hegde- in the first term from Janata Dal and in the next two terms as an independent.

Out of the eight Assembly segments in Dakshina Kannada, Mangalore (South), earlier known as Mangalore Constituency, had the highest number voters at 1,83,430 voters whereas Mangalore Constituency (old Ullal constituency) had the lowest number of voters at 1,41,225.


Please Wait while comments are loading...