Karnataka clinches women title

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panaji, May 3 (UNI) Karnataka annexed the South Zone women's title by defeating Kerala 6-3 homes in the finals of the South Zone Softball championship, being played at Calangute in North Goa today.

For Karnataka, Shruti and Rajani scored 2 runs each. Kusum and Shama scored one run each. For Kerala, Simi Nitya and Gayatri scored one run each.

Host Goa had to be content with third place both in the women and men's events. They defeated Pondichery 10-0 in the women's section and Andhra Prdesh 5-1 in men's section.

For host women, Mamata, Lorena and Connie scored two homes each, while Shraddha, Jeaeza, Jeruca and Nasin scored one run each.

Earlier in the semi-finals, Karnataka beat Goa 10-6 and Kerala outplayed Pondichery 16-0.

While in the men's final, Karnataka will clash against Kerala tomorrow.

In the semi-finals, Karnataka today beat Goa 16-6 and Kerala beat Andhra Pradesh 6-4.

For Karnataka, Kirti Kumar scored 3 runs, while Parshan, Gowda, Gopinath, Abhi, Charan scored 2 runs each. Sunil, Mani and Ravi scored one run each.

In the second semi-final, Kerala's Rasik, Libin, Nitin, Kevin, Anoop and Nishant scored one run each.


Please Wait while comments are loading...