CPI names candidates for bypolls in AP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, May 2 (UNI) The Communist Party of India (CPI) today announced the names of two candidates, who would contest in the bypolls, scheduled to be held on May 29 to 18 Assembly and four Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.

CPI State Secretary K Narayana, after presiding over a meeting with the Karimnagar district party leaders, said Y Gattaiah would contest from Medaram and M Venkateswarlu would fight from Huzurabad Assembly constituencies.

Stating that the party would take a final decision on fielding its candidate in Aleru Assembly seat in Nalgonda district as its district party committee meet, he said the CPI would support the CPI(M), which had fielded its candidates in Musheerabad and Cheryal Assembly seats in Warangal district.

The CPI leader said the party would maintain equi-distance with the ruling Congress and the opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the election.

However, the party would support candidates, who were serving the society irrespective of their party affiliations in the elections, he added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...