Poll results of Graduate constituencies for UP council announced

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, May 1 (UNI) Except for the Agra and Lucknow graduate seats, results of rest 9 teachers and graduate constituencies have been announced, where biennial elections for the Uttar Pradesh legislative council were held on April 28.

The Om Prakash Sharma group have won six seats out of the nine results announced so far by the Election Commission.

Yagya Dutt Sharma from Allahabad-Jhansi graduate seat and Kedar Nath Singh from Varanasi graduate seat have been re-elected, while on Meerut graduate seat, Hem Singh Pundir was declared elected.

In Lucknow graduate constituency, sitting member S P Singh was leading while in Agra graduate seat O P Bansal was ahead against his rival candidates. Both the results are expected late tonight.

Subhash Chandra Sharma of the Om Prakash Sharma group was declared winner in the Bareilly teachers constituency, after recieving 3,278 first preference votes. On Lucknow teachers seat, Devi Dayal Shastri of the same group had emerged winner, while in Meerut teachers seat group leader Om Prakash Sharma himself was the winner.

On Faizabad-Gorakhpur teachers seat Dhruv Kumar Tripathi was the winner, while the Agra teachers seat was won by Jagveer Kishore Jain, both belonging to the Sharma group. Chet Narain Singh was declared elected on Varanasi seat.

All the winners except for Dhruv Kumar Tripathi and Chet Narain Singh, were re-elected to the state Legislative Council from the teachers seat.

Altogether fate of 180 candidates of which 46 for the teachers constituencies and rest 134 for the graduate seats had contested in the elections.


Please Wait while comments are loading...