Fomer K'taka CM Dharam Singh files nomination for a record win

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gulbarga, Apr 30 (UNI) Former Karnataka Chief Minister and Senior Congress leader N Dharam Singh today filed his nomination for Jewargi Assembly seat in an attempt to represent the constituency for a record ninth time.

Jewargi constituency goes to poll in the third phase on May 22.

Mr Narayan Singh Dharam Singh entered the State Assembly by winning the Jewargi seat in 1972 election defeating a three time MP Mahadevappa Banpurs. Since then he has not looked back and had been representing the constituency by winning the elections eight times in a row -- 1972, 1978, 1983, 1985, 1989, 1994,1999 and 2004.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M Karunanidhi holds the record of entering the assembly for nine terms. But he has won from different constituencies, whereas Dharam Singh has won eight times in succession from the same constituency.

Mr Singh started his political career as an independent corporator from Gulbarga City Municipal Council. Later, he joined Congress.

The 72-year-old has held different portfolios in the state government since 1980. He was the Chief Minister for 20 months leading the first coalition government in the state with JD(S).

"I do not feel it is my success. It belongs to the people of Jewargi, they have great confidence on me and elected eight times and going to elect ninth time', he told reporters.


Please Wait while comments are loading...