BJP announces six more names for Karnataka polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 28 (UNI) The BJP today announced the names of six more candidates for the next month's three-phased Assembly elections in Karnataka.

A party press release here said BJP president Rajnath Singh approved the six names.

While Dr Sarvabhowma Attur would contest from Indi, Basavaraja Patil Attur from Basavakalyan, Vajjala Manappa (Lingsugur-SC), Andanappa Agadi (Koppal), Shivaraja Sajjanar (Byadagi) and M Basavaraja Nayak from Mayakonda-SC.

The elections would be held for 224 constituencies in Karnataka in accordance with the newly delimited assembly constituencies, out of which 36 are reserved for schedule castes and 15 for scheduled tribes.

The state was put under President's rule on November 20, 2007.

The Assembly was later dissolved on November 28, 2007.

The first phase of polls would be held on May 10, the second on May 16 and the third on May 22. The counting would be held on May 25.


Please Wait while comments are loading...