Kodagu goes to polls on May 10

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Madikeri, Apr 27 (UNI) Assembly segments of Kodagu, reduced to two with Madikeri and Virajpet from three after the Delimitation excercise, would go to polls in the first phase of election in Karnataka on May 10.

The Madikeri constituency is likely to witness a straight contest between former Congress MLA B A Jeevavijaya and BJP Appachu Ranjan.

However, K N Vasanth of the JD(S), who is also contesting the seat would try to win the votes of the 'Virashaiva' community here.

In Virajpet, where five candidates are in the fray, former MLC Arun Machiah would contest on a JD(S) ticket, while the Congress had fielded Veena Achaiah.

The Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party had also fielded their candidates in the constituency which had 1,79,860 voters.

Virajpet constituency had 95,384 women and 93,541 men voters.

The newly-formed Madikeri constituency included all the places in Somwarpet taluk and 23 wards in Madikeri town Municipal limits.

Virajpet constituency included Sampaje, Bhgamandala and Napoklu villages in addition to the areas under Virajpet taluk.


Please Wait while comments are loading...