Four Lok Sabha members desire to contest Assembly elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 25(UNI) Four sitting members of the Lok Sabha from Karnataka have decided to return to State politics and contest in the next month Assembly elections Former Union Minister and BJP MP from Bijapur Mr Basavaraj Patil Yatnal, in his attempt to enter state politics, will be contesting from Hoovina Hiparagi in Bijapur District going to polls on May 16.

Another BJP MP from Bellary Mr Karunakara Reddy want to try his fortune in an attempt to return to state politics and he will be contesting from Harapanahalli Assembly constitutency.

Film actor turned politician Congress Lok Sabha Member and Union Minister of State for Information Ambareesh, who had declared his resignation to both Ministeriship and Lok Sabha on the backdrop of Cauvery agitation, has filed his nomination for Srirangapatna assembly seat in Mandya district. The party had earlier denied him the ticket and had selected Mr Ravindra Srikantaiah. However the party included his name removing mr Ravindra's name.

The other sitting Lok Sabha member who has decided to plunge into state politics is former Karnataka Chief Minister S Bangarappa, who is representing Shimoga in the Lok Sabha. Mr Bangarappa, who is also Samajawadi Party State unit President has announced his desire to return to the state politics and contest from Shikaripur assembly seat where BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa is seeking re-election for the sixth time.

Apart from Lok Sabha members, five sitting members of Karnataka Legislative council including Opposition Leader in the Legislative Council H K Patil have decided to try their luck and contesting for the coming assembly elections.

While Senior Congress leader and former Minister H K Patil is contesting from his home town Gadag Assembly seat.

The BJP has decided to field three of its sitting Council members. While State Party general secretary Shobha Karandlaje was the party nominee from Yeshwantpur constitutency, Mr Aravinda Limbavali and Basavaraj Bommai were the party's nominees in Mahadeva Pura and Shiggavi assembly seats respectively.

The JD(S) in Karantaka also decided to field three of its sitting members in Karnataka Legislative Council to contest the coming assembly elections. While its member Chickmadu is the party's nominee for Hunsur assembly seat, the other two of its prominent members Y S V Datta and Basavaraj Horatti were contesting from Kadur in Chickmagalur and Hubli urban assembly seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...