90 candidates file nominations for Phase II polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 25 (UNI) As many as 90 candidates, including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s sitting Lok Sabha member G Karunakara Reddy filed their nominations today for the second phase of election to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly scheduled for May 16.

According to official sources Mr Reddy, who filed his nominatio papers for the Harapanahalli assembly seat in Davanagere district, was among the candidates who filed papers on the fourth day of the filing of nominations.

While 21 nominations were filed in Chitradurga district, 12 candidates entered the fray in Uttara Kannada, 11 in Raichur, 10 each in Bellary and Dakshina Kannada, 9 each in Chickmagalur, Shimoga and Davanagere 5 in Koppal and four nominations were received in Udupi district.

Since the opening of the nominations on April 22, 209 nominations have so far been received for 66 Assembly seats in the second phase.

The last date for filing nominations April 29 and scrutiny would be taken up the following day. The last date for withdrawal of nominations would be May two.

Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary,Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chickmagalur and Dakshina Kannada Districts come under the second phase elections.

The notification for the third phase elections for the remaining 69 Assembly seats in eight North Karnataka Districts would be issued on April 26.


Please Wait while comments are loading...