Sixth seed Parth Shah upsets boys U-14 top seed Anirudh Darp

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Apr 23 (UNI) Boys under-14 top seed Anirudh Darp of Maharashtra received a rude shock when he was defeated in straight sets by sixth seeded Parth P Shah in the quarter-finals of the Vazirani All India Championship Series Ranking Tennis tournament here today.

On another disastrous day for the seeds, Parth P Shah eased to a convincing 6-2, 6-1 win over Darp for a surprise entry into the semi-finals.

Fourth seed Karan Patel of Gujarat and Rajanvirsingh Dharni of Maharashtra were the other favourites to join a long list of casualties.

As the seeds continued to fall, seventh seed Rutuja Bhosle of Maharashtra upset Number two Bhavika of Chandigarh 7-5, 6-2 to advance to the girls' under-14 semi-finals.

The other casualty in the same category was Number eight and home favourite Bharthi Bylapudi of Vazirani Sports Academy who went down to state mate Shagufta Shaikh 4-6, 5-7 in a close contest.

Girls under-12 sixth seed Sanya Sinha of Delhi and Number eight Kavita Mishra of Maharashtra also crashed to complete another ominous day for fancied players.

Results: Boys U-14 (QF): Parth P Shah (Mah) bt Anirudh Darp (Mah) 6-2, 6-1; Karan Salwan (Del) bt Rajanvirsingh Dharni (Mah) 6-2, 1-6, 5-4 (conceded); Manish Kumar bt Karan Patel (Guj) 6-4, 6-2; Nischay Rawal (Chd) bt Khuma Basil (Miz) 6-4, 6-3.

Boys U-12 (QF): S Mukund (AP) bt Kshitej Gupta (Mah) 6-2, 6-2; Shashank Nautiyal (Del) bt SD Prajwaldev (Kar) 6-4, 7-6 (7/2); Sahil Deshmukh (Mah) bt Nikhil Kannan (Mah) 6-4, 6-2; Khuma Basil (Miz) bt Manish Drall (Del) 6-3, 5-7, 6-3.

Girls U-14 (QF): Lavina Chawla (Del) bt Anveshi Gupta (Del) 6-4, 5-7, 7-5; Shagufta Shaikh (Mah) bt Bharthi Bylapudi (Mah) 6-4, 7-5; Sanskruti Jangle (Mah) bt Nayanika Reddy (AP) 6-4, 6-4; Rutuja Bhosale (Mah) bt Bhavika (Chd) 7-5, 6-2.

Girls U-12 (QF): Moulika B Ram (TN) bt Kavita Mishra (Mah) 6-0, 6-2; Ashna Sharma (Mah) bt Sanya Sinha (Del) 3-6, 6-4, 6-3; Rutuja Bhosale (Mah) bt Prabhuti Singhania (Mah) 6-3, 6-1; Ambreen Sheikh (AP) bt Anveshi Gupta (Del) 6-1, 4-6, 6-0.


Please Wait while comments are loading...