Girls u-14, u-12 top seeds Baindoor, Ghosh shown exit door

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Apr 22 (UNI) Girls under-14 top seed Gauri Baindoor of Maharashtra and under-12-Number One Srijita Ghosh of West Bengal crashed on a disastrous day for the seeds, in the Vazirani All India Championship Series Ranking tennis tournament, at the Vazirani Sports Academy, Nerul, Navi Mumbai today.

Unseeded Anveshi Gupta of Delhi set the ball rolling when she shocked Baindoor 6-4, 6-3 to sail into the quarter-finals.

Joining Baindoor on the casualty list were fourth seed Avnee Gosavi of Maharashtra, who went down to unseeded state mate Shagufta Shaikh 3-6, 4-6, and Number Five 5 D Rinisha of Delhi who lost to unseeded Sanskruti Jangle of Maharashtra 2-6, 3-6.

The trend stretched into the under-12 category too, where unseeded Moulika B Ram of Tamil Nadu shocked-number one Srijita Ghosh 6-4, 6-0.

Fourth seed Nayanika D Reddy of Andhra Pradesh and Number Seven Devanshi Bhimjiyani of Maharashtra also made premature exits after losing in straight sets.

Unseeded Karan Salwan of Delhi overcame-Number Eight S K Mukund of Andhra Pradesh 7-6 (7/3), 5-7, 7-5 in a thrilling boys under-14 pre-quarter-final tie that lasted a marathon two hours and ten minutes, while lucky loser Kshitej Gupta of Maharashtra stunned seventh seed Rahul Somani of Andhra Pradesh 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 to complete an ominous day for the seeds and advance to the boys under-12 quarter-finals.

Results: Boys U-14 (PQF): Anirudh Darp (Mah) bt Rohan Panchal (Mah) 6-1, 6-2; Parth P Shah (Mah) bt Sahil Deshmukh (Mah) 6-2, 6-4; Rajanvirsingh Dharni (Mah) bt Rohit Gowda (Mah) 6-4, 6-2; Karan Salwan bt SK Mukund (AP) 7-6 (7-3), 5-7, 7-5; Manish Kumar bt T S Jude (TN) 6-1, 6-2; Karan Patel (Guj) bt Manish Drall (Del) 6-0, 6-1; Khuma Basil (Miz) bt Shashank Nautiyal (Del) 6-2, 6-1; Nischay Rawal (Chd) bt Ryan Serrao (Mah) 6-2, 6-2.

Boys U-12 (PQF): S Mukund (AP) bt Jaysheel Pandey 6-3, 6-1; Kshitej Gupta (Mah) bt Rahul Somani (AP) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3; Shashank Nautiyal (Del) bt Tanvir Arman (Guj)6-3, 6-3; S D Prajwaldev (Kar) bt Devang Saxena (AP) 6-3, 6-3; Sahil Deshmukh (Mah) bt MS Rakshit (Kar) 2-6, 6-3, 6-4; Nikhil Kannan (Mah) bt Nikhil M Sai (AP) 4-6, 6-1, 6-2; Manish Drall (Del) bt Karman Ali (WB) 6-1, 6-3; Khuma Basil (Miz) bt Raymond Jude (AP) 3-6, 6-0, 6-2.

Girls U-14 (PQF): Anveshi Gupta (Del) bt Gauri Baindoor (Mah) 6-4, 6-3; Lavina Chawla (Del) bt Devanshi Bhimjiani (Del) 6-0, 6-4; Shagufta Shaikh (Mah) bt Avnee Gosavi (Mah) 6-3, 6-4; Bharthi Bylapudi (Mah) bt Aparajita Thakkar (Mah) 6-1, 6-3; Sanskruti Jangle (Mah) bt Rinisha D (Del) 6-2, 6-3; Nayanika Reddy (AP) bt Ruchita Ugalmugle (Mah) 6-2, 6-1; Rutuja Bhosale (Mah) bt Moulika B Ram (TN) 6-3, 6-1; Bhavika (Chd) bt P Sudheera (TN) 6-2, 6-1.

Girls U-12 (PQF): Moulika B Ram (TN) bt Srijita Ghosh (WB) 6-4, 6-0; Kavita Mishra (Mah) bt Shriya Pai (Mah) 7-6 (8-6), 6-2; Ashna Sharma (Mah) bt Nayanika D. Reddy (AP) 6-3, 7-5; Sanya Sinha (Del) bt Vasanti Shinde (Mah) 6-1, 6-4; Prabhuti Singhania (Mah) bt Devanshi Bhimjiyani (Mah) 6-4, 6-4; Rutuja Bhosale (Mah) bt Mun Amin (Guj) 6-1, 6-0; Anveshi Gupta (Del) bt P Sudheera (TN) 6-1, 5-7, 6-1; Ambreen Sheikh (AP) bt Asmita Goradia (Mah) 6-0, 6-3.


Please Wait while comments are loading...