100 more nominations filed for First phase election

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 22 (UNI) As many as 100 candidates today filed nominations on the penultimate day for filing nominations to the first phase Karantaka Assembly elections scheduled for May 10.

According to official sources a maximum of 38 nominations were received for 21 assembly seats in Bruhath Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) followed by 14 in Mandya district and nine each in Kolar, Tumkur and Chamarajanagar.

Tomorrow is the last date for filing of nominations for 89 assembly seats in 11 Southern districts of Karantaka. About 43 per cent of the total number of 40077000 voters would exercise their franchise in the first phase.

Former Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy (JD-S), former ministers B N Bachegowda (BJP), V Somanna (Cong), H D Revanna, Cheluvarayaswamy (both JD(S)) among the others who have already filed their nominations for the May 10 elections.

The election commission officials have seized a large number of illegal publicity materials, a number of vehicles used for campaign without permission, impounded cash worth over Rs 14 crores and booked as many as over 500 criminal cases for allegedly violating election code of conduct.

Meanwhile about 10 nominations have been received for the second phase elections for 66 seats in 10 districts for which notifications have been issued by the election authorities today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...