Former CM files nomination for upcoming Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 21 (UNI) Former Karnataka chief minister H D Kumaraswamy, his brother H D Revanna and 212 other candidates today filed their nomination papers for the first phase of the state Assembly elections to be held on May 10.

According to the Chief Electoral Officer's office sources, as many as 214 candidates, including former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy and former Ministers H D Revanna and B N Bachegowda filed their nominations on the fourth day.

Mr Kumaraswamy, star campaigner for the JD(S), filed his nomination papers at Ramanagaram after flying down from Bangalore in a chartered helicopter. Mr Kumaraswamy addressed a large number of cheering party workers who received him at the helipad.

Former Minister and elder son of former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, H D Revanna filed his papers from Holenarasipur Assembly seat in Hassan district.

Former Minister and BJP leader B N Bachegowda (Hoskore), JD(S) leader N Cheluvarayaswamy (Nagamangala) and Congress candidate V Somanna (Govindarajanagar) also filed their papers.

While 52 candidates filed their papers in Brihath Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) region, 28 candidates filed in Mandya, 25 in Hassan and 21 each in Kolar and Tumkur districts.

Earlier, speaking to newspersons Karnataka CEO, M N Vidhyashankar said as many as 473 criminal cases had been filed against various persons and political parties for violating the Election Mode of Conduct since poll the dates were announced.

Meanwhile, the Congress and JD(S) had published the list of party candidates to fight in the first phase of the elections. While the Congress named its nominees for all the 89 seats which goes to poll on May 10, the JD(S) had finalised only 64 names so far.

The BJP was way ahead in announcing the names of the 193 candidates for the 224 member Karantaka assembly.


Please Wait while comments are loading...