Tushar Khandekar to lead India, Rajpal Singh dropped

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi,Apr 18 (UNI) Start striker Tushar Khandekar was today named captain of the 18-member Indian hockey team for the four nation double leg tournamnt to be held in Perth/Darwin (Australia) from April 23 to May 4.

Striker Rajpal Singh, former skippers Dilip Tirkey and Prabodh Tirkey do not figure in the team.

The team wil be accompanied by eight officals including chief coach Joaquim Carvalho and manager RK Shetty.

The other teams taking part in the tournament are hosts Australia, Korea and China.

The team: Goal Keepers: Baljit Singh, Adrian D'souza Defenders: William Xalco, Sameer Baxla, Jaswinder Singh, V Raghunath Mid fielders: Gurbaj Singh, VS Vinaya, Sardar Singh, Vickram Kanth, Ignace Tirkey, Ravipal, Birender Lakra Forwards: Tushar Khandekar, SV Sunil, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Shivendra Singh and Prabhjot Singh.

The schedule: At Perth: April 23: India vs Korea, Australia vs China April 24: China vs Korea, India vs Australia April 26: India vs China,Australia vs Korea April 27: 3 vs 4, 1 vs 2 At Darwin April 30: India vs Korea,Australia vs China May 01: India vs China,Australia vs Korea May 03: China vs Korea, India vs Australia May 04: 3 vs 4, 1 vs 2.


Please Wait while comments are loading...