JD(U) releases first list for K'taka Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 18: Spurning the 'inadequate' number of seats allotted by its NDA ally BJP for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Karnataka, Janata Dal (United) today came out with a first list 24 candidates. Mr Shambhu Shrivastwa, National general Secretary JD(U) released the list, which included state party chief B Somashekhar and former legislator J Madhuswamy.

In this list five seats were allotted to SC, four to ST, three to OBC and minorities. The second and final lists are expected to announce within two days, he said in a release here. The JD(U) had turned down the offer of a mere five seats from the BJP against its original demand of 24 seats. During the last elections in 2004, JD(U) had been given 25 seats and it had won five of them. However except Madhuswamy the other four had deserted the party. Mr Somashekhar would contest from Malavalli (SC), Mr Madhuswamy from Chikkanayakanahalli, former minister C Veeranna from Madhugiri and former Lok Sabha member Dr V Venkatesh from KGF(SC) seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...