17 file nominations for phase-1 assembly polls in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 17 (UNI) Seventeen people, including politicians from Congress, BJP and Janata Dal(S) filed their nominations for the first phase of Karnataka Assembly elections to be held on May ten, on the second day today.

Chief Electoral Officer M N Vidyashankar said there will be no filing of nomination papers tomorrow for it being a Government holiday on account of Mahavir Jayanti.

Mysore district reported eleven nominations, highest so far.

The noted people, who filed their nominations, included V Munivenkatappa of Congress in Mulbagal, C S Puttaraju of JD(S) and farmer leader K S Puttannaiah of Karnataka Sarvodaya Paksha in Melukote.

The second and third phase of elections would be held on May 16 and 22.


Please Wait while comments are loading...