Seven candidates file nomination to first phase election

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 16 (UNI) Seven candidates, including one each from the Congress and JD(S), have filed their nominations to the first phase of election to the Karnataka assembly elections scheduled for May 10.

According to sources from the office of the Chief Electoral Office (OCEC) here today, as many as seven nominations were received on the opening day of filing nominations, which kick started today.

S P Mudduhanumegowda had filed his nomination for the Kunigal Assembly seat as the Congress nominee, while Sannirappa K Thimmappa filed his nominations as the JD(S) candidate to the Madhugiri constituency in Tumkur district. Both the Congress and JD(S) are yet to announce the official list of the nominees to contest in the coming elections.

Five independent candidates also have filed their nominations in Kolar, Ramanagaram, Hassan and Mysore districts. No nominations had been received from Kodagu, Chickballapur, Bangalore urban, Chamarajanagar and Bangalore rural districts, the sources added.

Elections would be conducted in 89 assembly segments spread over 11 districts in the first phase, scheduled to be held on May 10.


Please Wait while comments are loading...