Rahul Sangma, Himanshu Sharma share lead in Subroto Memorial Chess

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 16 (UNI) International Master (IM) Himanshu Sharma joined overnight sole leader Rahul Sangma to share the lead with 7 points in the 2nd Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee Memorial Open International Chess here today In the top board, Rahul Sangma narrowly escaped with a draw against IM Satyapragyan of Air India. Cruising to victory, Satya miscalculated the winning pawn combination in the end game and had to be satisfied with half a point.

IM Himanshu Sharma overcame his rival Ram S Krishanan in 30 moves without much struggle in the second table. Playing safe, seasoned campaigners Atanu Lahiri and B S Shivananda signed the peace treaty in just 10 moves.

With 3 more rounds left in the tournament, a pack of eight players are trailing behind the leaders with 6.5 points.

Important Results (Round : 8) Rahul Sangma (7) drew with IM Satyapragyan (6.5), IM Himanshu Sharma (7) beat Ram S Krishnan (6), IM Atanu Lahiri (6.5) drew with B S Shivananda (6.5), Matta Vinay Kumar (6.5) drew with IM Sriram Jha (6.5), Akash Thakur (6.5) beat IM Saptarshi Roy (5.5), IM P Konguvel (6.5) beat Sagar Shah (5.5), G B Joshi (6.5) beat Somak Palit (5.5), Sudhir Kumar Sinha (6.5) beat Arjun Tiwari (5.5), Venkata Ramana J (6) drew with IM D P Singh (6) UNI HSB AB KN1614

Please Wait while comments are loading...