Khandelwal wins in 6 Assembly segments in Betul

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Apr 16 (UNI) BJP leader Hemant Khandelwal, who was today declared elected to the Lok Sabha from Betul, constituency Madhya Pradesh led in six of the eight assembly segments, while his Congress rival Sukhdev Panse was ahead in Harda and Masaud segments.

With this win the BJP has reatined the seat for the fifth time in a row with Mr Khandelwal garnering a total of 3,00,674 votes against 2,65,234 voted bagged by Mr Panse, a sitting MLA.

Rewaram, one of the seven Independent candidates secured third position with 23,051 votes while Samajwadi Party MLA Dr Sunilam came fourth with 21,698 votes.

Gondwana Gantantra Party chief Hira Singh Markam got 11,066 votes, while Samajwadi Jan Parishad nominee Mangal Singh Lokhande polled 4493 votes.

Votes polled by indpendents include Ashok (1859 votes), Udal Prasad (4051), Prem Kumar Uike(6852), Bhagcharan(3734), Manjit Singh(3897) and Mansaram(9440).

Total valid votes polled in the byelection were 6,56,049.

UNI Team-SP akj ht1627

Please Wait while comments are loading...