DMK demands review of parameters of OBC reservation

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 15 (UNI) Describing the existing parameters for identifying the OBCs for reservation benefits as 'indiscriminatory,' the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) today demanded their review for the cent per cent utilisation of the 27 per cent quota earmarked for them in centrally-run institutions of higher learning in the wake of the Supreme Court verdict.

A High-level DMK delegation led by Union Minister T R Baalu today met UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and impressed upon her the need to increase the income ceiling for extending the benefits of OBC reservation from the present Rs 2.5 lakhs in the light of the expected pay hike for the employees from the Sixth Pay Commission recommendations.

In this context, the delegation pointed out that even the children of Group D employees might not be able to enjoy the benefits of reservation under the present annual income limit of 2.5 lakhs.

"OBC's could not fully benefit from the existing 27 per cent reservation in government jobs because of the stringent parameters, though the socially and educationally backward classes whom the OBCs belong to, constitute well over 50 per cent of the population," the DMK said in a memorandum submitted to Ms Gandhi.

The delegation appealed to Ms Gandhi to impress upon the UPA and the government the need to take immediate measures for a fair and just review of the various parameters, including the income limit, for defining the OBCs so that the 27 per cent reservation was extended in the existing academic year itself.

Mr Baalu told Ms Gandhi that Mr Karunanidhi would offer his further views of the party on the 'creamy layer' issue shortly, so that elaborate discussions could be facilitated at an appropriate time.

Ms Gandhi assured the delegation that she would through the memorandum and a collectie decision within the UPA would be taken in the matter in consultation with all concerned.

Besides Mr Baalu, the delegation consisted of ten DMK MPs, including Union Ministers A Raja, S S Palanimanickam, S Reghupathy and K Venkatapathy and DMK Floor leader in Lok Sabha C Kuppuswamy.


Please Wait while comments are loading...