Bypolls pass off peacefully in UP, MP, Orissa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow/Bhopal, Apr 12(UNI) Polling for two Lok Sabha and three Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh and one Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh passed off peacefully today amid tight security.

The tentative voting percentage in two parliamentary seats of Khalilabad and Azamagarh was 33 and 41, while the average turnout in three assembly seats of Colonelganj (Gonda), Muradnagar (Ghaziabad) and Bilgram (Hardoi) was 50 per cent, UP Chief Electoral Officer Anuj Kumar Bishnoi told UNI here.

The polling statrted on a low note today but picked up later in the day.

The bypoll to two parliamentary constituencies was necessiated after Ramakant Yadav and Bhalchand, the sitting MPs from Azamgarh and Khalilabad respectively were declared disqualified.

The resignation of MLAs holding the seats necessitated the bypolls in assembly constituencies of Colonelganj and Muradnagar, while in Bilgram assmebly constituency, the seat lay vacant after the death of BSP member Upendra Tiwari.

As part of the exercise to hold free and fair polls, the Uttar Pradesh government had issued shoot-at-sight orders against anyone indulging in booth capturing and rigging.

The borders of Khalilabad parliamentary segment surrounding the Basti, Sant Kabirnagar and Siddharthnagar districts had been sealed.

The results will be declared on April 16.

In Madhya Pradesh, about 55.90 per cent of the nearly 11 lakh electorate exercised their franchise today for the Lok Sabha by-election in Betul constituency, official sources said.

Betul parliamentary constituency comprises eight Assembly segments. Highest turnout of 59 per cent was reported in Amla segment, Betul (56.6), Masaud (56), Bhainsdehi (55), Ghodadongri (54.6), Multai (54), Harda (54) and Timarni (54).

Of the 1219 polling booths, 331 were identified as sensitive, official sources said.

In the bypoll to Laxmipur Assembly seat in Orissa, around 55 per cent of the total 1.53 lakh electrotate exercised their franchise.

The byelection was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Anantaram Majhi.

Though five candidates Bibhisan Majhi (BJD), Purna Chandra Majhi (Congress), Upendra Majhi (Samudrha Orissa), Kumuda Saunta (Samajawadi Party) and Dandasi Tirupati (IND) were in the fray, the contest was mainly between the Congress and the ruling BJD.

However, the electorate of eleven villages of Kaberibada Gram Panchayat under Bandhugaon block boycotted the election, protesting lack of basic amenities like road connectivity and electricity in their areas.

UNI Team AKJ HS2016

Please Wait while comments are loading...