Smith won the toss elected to bat, Kumble unfit

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kanpur, Apr 11(UNI) South Africa captain Graeme Smith has won the toss and elected to bat in the crucial third Test against India at the Green Park Stadium here today.

However, in the absence of Indian skipper Anil Kumble who was declared unfit this morning, his deputy and One-day captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is leading the Test team for the first time.

Team India which had suffered an humilating defeat in the second Test match at Ahmedabad has made three changes in playing XI while the vistors retain the same team that played in the last test.

India has given a chance to local lad Piyush Chawla in place of skipper Anil Kumble while Yuvraj Singh replaced Irfan Pathan.

Ishant Sharma , who was declared fit yesterday will come in place of R P Singh.

Indian Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and WK), Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffar, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Saurabh Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Sreesanth, Ishant Sharma, Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla, Mohammad Kaif(12th man).

South Africa squad: Graeme Smith( Captain), Ashwell Prince (vice-captain), Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher(WK), AB de Villiers, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Moren Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn and Jean Paul Duminy(12th man) Umpires: Billy Doctrove(Dominica) and Asad Rauf( Pakistan).

G A Pratapkumar and Sanjeev Dua( both India) would be the third and fourth umpires respectively.

Roshan mahanama of Sri Lanka will be the Match referee.

Match timings 0930 hrs to 1130 hrs, 1210 hrs to 1410 hrs and 1430 hrs to 1630 hrs UNI MB RKM DS1315

Please Wait while comments are loading...