Tennis: A day of upsets in Super Series

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Apr 9: Three seeded players were upset on the second day of the All India Tennis Association Super Series being played at the Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association Stadium here today.

Wild card Digvijay Naruka from the CLTA High performance training programme, upset seventh seed Anridduh Darp in straight sets 6-4, 6-3. Digvijay played some superb baseline tennis with some strong forehand winners. The match was even till 4-4 then Digvijay came up with some good first serves backed up by some quick forehand winners to go up 5-4. Playing very consistently and waiting his turn to hit the winner he wrapped up the first set and went on to clinch the second with 5-3 lead.

Gurinder Singh from CLTA continued his winning streak entering the quarter finals of the boys under-16 singles and defeated qualifier Bhavneet Singh of Delhi 6-4, 6-2. Waqar Malak of Pakistan, currently training at the CLTA, shocked third seed Navneet Kumar also of CLTA in three sets 6-2, 3-6, 6-2.

However, another player from Pakistan undergoing 21-day coaching at CLTA bowed out as Vishvesh defeated Zohair Raza 6-4, 6-2.

In another upset, Ajay Yadav of CLTA shocked fourth seed Suraj Konwar of Gujarat in straight sets 6-4, 6-3 in the boys under-16 second round encounter.

Top seed Jaanesh Kaur entered the quarter final of the girls singles. But she was stretched to three sets by Jeni Patel of Gujarat. Jaanesh committing too many unforced errors on crucial points gave Jeni many advantages. Jeni played a good attacking game but eventually succumbed 6-7 (2), 6-3, 6-2 to Jaanesh Results: Boys Under-14 (2nd round): Surya Pavan bt Nischay Rawal 6-0,6-3, Ajay Yadav bt Jatinder Singh 6-0, 6-0, Arjun Khade bt Sushanta Mohanty 6-2,6-3, Vishal Passi bt Arunansu Borthakur 6-2,6-0; Digvijay Naruka bt Aniruddh Darp 6-4, 6-3; Manab Kr Chaknma bt Kamal Maderan 6-4, 6-0; Anshu Bhuyan Bt Karn Patel 6-4,7-5; R.

Ramkumar bt Rajanvir Singh 6-0, 6-1.

Boys under 16 (2nd round): Gurinder Singh bt Bhavneet Singh 6-1, 6-2; R. Ramkumar bt Manish Kumar 6-0, 6-2; Waqar Malak bt Navneet Kumar 6-2, 3-6, 6-2; Vishal Passi bt Garry Amor 6-1, 6-4; Surya Sirsala bt Aiman Abdullah 6-4, 6-2; Ajay Yadav bt Suraj Konwar 6-4, 6-3; Vishvesh bt Zohair Raza 6-4, 6-2; Syrya Pavan bt Amit Chauhan 6-3, 6-1.

Girls Under 14 (2nd round): Surya Tejaswani bt P Shri Tejaswani 6-1,6-3; Likhita Shetty bt Tahira Bhatti 7-6(7),6-3; Tarranum Handa bt Anushka Rajkumar 6-1,6-1; Samitha bt Sukhmani wadha 6-1,6-2; Saranya bt Vibhuti Khullar 6-2,6-2; Parminder Kaur bt Rimpledeep aur 6-1,6-1; Zainab Ai Sajjad bt Lavanaya Saranava 6-1,6-2; Teerhta Iska bt Samriti 6-2,6-3.

Girls under 16 (2nd Round): Jaanesh Kaur Bt Jeni Patel 6-7, 6-3,6-2; Parminder Kaur bt Rimpledeep Kaur 6-2,7-5; Saadgi Rajani btr Prabhamrit Kaur 6-3,7-6; Surya Tejaswani bt Kritika Paul 7-6, 5-7, 6-1; P Shri Vaishanavi bt Iktesh Chahal 6-1,6-3; Zainab Ali Sajjad bt Pooja Kudesia 6-1,6-2; Shilpa Narika bt Vignmynata 6-2,6-0;Tarranum Handa bt Jaspreet Kaur 6-1, 6-7, 7-5.


Please Wait while comments are loading...