Girija Vyas re-appointed NCW chairperson

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 8 (UNI) Dr Girija Vyas has been re-appointed chairperson of the National Commission for Women by the Centre for another term of three years-- the first to head the rights body for a second tenure.

The notification to this effect has been issued and Dr Vyas will take charge tomorrow. Her term had ended on February 14.

Dr Vyas, who has a doctorate in Philosophy, took over as the NCW Chairperson on February 16, 2005, when she succeeded Dr Poornima Advani (Jan, 2002-- Jan, 2005).

Ms Jayanti Patnaik was the first chairperson-- (Feb 1992 to Jan 1995) of the Commission, set up as a statutory body in January 1992 under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990.

Ms Patnaik was followed Dr Mohini Giri (July 1995 to July 1998) and Ms Vibha Parthasarathy (Jan 1999 to Jan 2002).

NCW is mandated to review the Constitutional and legal safeguards for women, recommend remedial legislative measures, facilitate redressal of grievances and advise the Government on all policy matters affecting women.


Please Wait while comments are loading...