3 more mommunities included in BCs list in AP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Apr 3 (UNI) The Andhra Pradesh Cabinet today approved inclusion of Kunchiti Vakkaliga, Sadara and Dammala/Damalli communities in the list of Backward Classes.

A Cabinet meeting, chaired by Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, took the decision based on the recommendations of the State Commission for BCs, Information Minister A Ramanarayana Reddy told reporters.

The area of operation would be restricted to Anantapur District for Kunchiti Vakkaliga and Sadara communities and to Srikakulam District for the Dammali community, Mr Reddy said, adding the principle of excluding socially advanced persons (creamy layer) would automatically apply to the communities.

Thanking the Chief Minister for the gesture, Agriculture Minister N Raghuveera Reddy said the Kunchiti Vakkaliga community had already been classified as backward in Tamil Nadu and Karnataka and they had been included in the list of BCs in the composite Madras State.

The Sadara Community was recognised as backward class in Karnataka, he added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...