EC announces three-phase assembly polls in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 2 (UNI) The assembly elections in Karnataka, which is currently under President's rule, will be held in three phases on May 10, 16 and 22, the Election Commission announced today.

Addressing a news conference here, Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswami said 89 assembly seats will go to the polls in the first phase, 66 in the second phase and 69 in the third and final phase.

Counting of votes will take place on May 25.

Mr Gopalaswami said the model code of conduct came into effect in the state from today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...