Women's cricket body will maintain identity: Natu

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 30 (UNI) Women's Cricket Association of India (WCAI) will maintain their identity for the upliftment of women's cricket.

The newly elected general secretary of the WCAI Nutan Gavaskar (Natu), a former International women cricker said here today that she would fight tooth and nail for the survival of women's cricket from the clutches of BCCI, who wanted to take over the exhisting body instead of 'Merger' as directed by International Cricket Council.

However, some of our women players shifted their loyality towards the BCCI, she added.

Ms Gavaskar said that from now we would develop the women's cricket from grass root level and would plan to organise championships regularly.

In reply to a question, she agreed that in contrast to men's cricket women's cricket was not getting rapid popularity and the main cause behind it was lack of sponsorers, adding that there was no derth of tallent.

She said that the women's players were getting worldwide recognition after Indian medium pacer Jhulan Goswami was adjusted as the international woman player by ICC.

The newly elected treasurer Suresh Shinde said that BCCI was treating just like East India Company towards the WCAI, which would be oppose by the newly elected body.

Earlier in the day, Annual General Body Meeting(AGM) was held here in which following were elected as office bearers- Dr Renu Ajit Jogi-president (Chhattisgarh), Nutan Gavaskar-Secretary (Mumbai), Suresh Shinde- Treasurer (Pune), A P Jittu (Bihar), Baba Rocque(Vidarbha), Anil Sarolker (MP), Shambhunath Sharma (J&K), Sharda Murdia (Rajasthan)- Vice presidents, Hardeep Dua (Delhi) Mohd Nawab (UP), Narendra Nikam (Maharashtra), Ramling Reddy (AP), Momtaz Begum (WB) as joint secretaries, Lalitesh Bhasin (Punjab) Mrs Nanda Rani (Manipur), Amol Morjkar (Goa), Deepan Mehta (Uttarakhand), Baswati Chattergee (Haryana), Ashutosh Sharma (J&K) and Premballabh Sahai as executive members.

The members attending the AGM by amending the constitution and by envoking article 38 of the bylaws nominated ex-secretry Anuradha Dutt as chairperson of the association and also nominated Alok Raj (IPS) as the patron for 2008-12.


Please Wait while comments are loading...