Assembly to take up TDP's No-confidence motion on March 31

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Mar 28 (UNI) The Andhra Pradesh Assembly will take up the No-confidence motion, moved by Leader of the Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu against the 46-month-old Rajasekhara Reddy government, for discussion on March 31.

The Business Advisory Committee meeting chaired by Speaker K R Suresh Reddy extended by two more sittings, the Budget session which was earlier scheduled to end today, Assembly sources said.

The marathon discussion on the motion expressing No-confidence in the Council of Ministers, would begin at 0830 hrs on March 31 and continue for over 12 hours.

The discussion would continue on the next day, culminating in a voting.

For the first time, the government would face such a motion, which was bound to be defeated as the ruling Congress had a strength of 185 MLAs in a House of 295 members.

The TDP has 44 members followed by TRS 10, CPI(M) nine, CPI six, All India Majilis-E-Ittihadul Muslimeen five, BJP two, Janata Party two, BSP one, Samajwadi Party one, Independents 11 and nominated one.

Sixteen seats are vacant in the wake of the resignation of 16 TRS members over the separate Telangana issue and two other seats following the death of a Congress and a TDP member.


Please Wait while comments are loading...