Two nominations rejected in the bypolls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 27 (UNI) Nomination papers of two independent candidates, one each in Khalilabad and Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituencies, have been rejected during scrutiny today.

A total of 84 candidates are now in the fray for the two Lok Sabha and three assembly byelection, scheduled for April 12.

According to state election office sources here, during the scrutiny, the papers of Independent candidate Ram Chandra from Khalilabad and Shahjama Khan from Azamgarh LS seats were rejected on technical grounds. No nomination papers were rejected in the three assembly by-elections.

Now the candidates can withdraw their nominations till March 29, while the counting of votes would be taken up on April 16..

The maximum number of 22 candidates are now in the fray for the Khalilabad Lok Sabha seat, while 16 candidates would try their luck from Azamgarh LS seat.

A total of 14 candidates are in contest from Bilgram assembly seat, 19 for Colonelganj and 13 for the Muradnagar assembly seats.

The by-election for the two Lok Sabha seat was necessitated, due to disqualification of BSP members Bhalchand Yadav (Khalilabad) and Ramakant Yadav (Azamgarh) under Anti-Defection Law.

However, both the disqualified members are contesting the by-elections, while Bhalchand is now a Samajwadi Party candidate and Ramakant as BJP nominee.

Bilgram assembly seat had fell vacant, following the demise of sitting BSP member Upendra Tiwari. Sitting Congress members Ajay Pratap Singh had resigned from the Colonelganj seat and joined the BSP. Similarly, independent MLA Rajpal Tyagi had resigned from Moradnagar seat (Ghaziabad) and joined the BSP.

Mr Tyagi now contesting the poll as BSP nominee, while sister of Ajay Pratap Singh is the candidate of the ruling BSP in the bypolls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...