Anh, Laznica frontrunners after four rounds

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Mar 27 (UNI) Vietnam GM Nguyen Anh Dung and Czech GM Viktor Laznica today took the lead after the fourth round of the third Kolkata Open Grandmaster Chess Tournament organised by Alekhine Chess Club at Gorky Sadan.

Grandmaster Nguyen Anh Dung of Vietnam won his game against International Master P Konguvel of India to have a share of the lead. The Vietnamese won a pawn against the Grunfeld defence of the Indian and then pushed it to win a piece. The game lasted for 44 moves.

Viktor Laznicka of the Czech Republic was the other Grandmaster to stay on top. He outwitted International Master Arun Prasad in 51 moves of a Slav defence. Even though it was a long game the Czech Grandmaster slowly applied the pressure with the black pieces and won a pawn, which was enough to take home the point.

Grandmaster Sambat Lputian of Armenia stopped the run of M S Thejkumar of India. The experienced Armenian had an outside passed pawn and this was enough for him to get the point on the 30th move. The game was a Catalan opening with the Armenian Grandmaster having the advantage of the white pieces.

Local Grandmaster Sandipan Chanda played the game of the day to account for Oliver Barbosa of the Philippines. Chanda played the Rossolimo attack against the Sicilian defence of his opponent and got a central breakthrough to win in 31 moves.

Grandmaster Koneru Humpy of India faced difficulties against fellow Grandmaster R.B.Ramesh . She lost a pawn and Ramesh thereafter managed to apply some pressure. But Humpy was up to the task and eventually drew the game.

The top seed Grandmaster Krishnan Sasikiran managed a victory against International Master S Satyapragyan in another long struggle.

Indian Grandmasters Tejas Bakre and Neelotpal Das took quick draws against Grandmaster Adly Ahmed and International Master Sudhakar Babu respectively.

Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua won a short game against IM D P Singh.

He employed his favourite Guioco Piano opening to win a piece.

Thereafter the game lasted for only 24 moves.

Arghyadip Das also won his game to remain in contention for another IM norm.

Top Board Results:- IM Arun Prasad (3) lost to GM Viktor Laznicka (4) GM Nguyen Anh Dung (4) beat IM P.Konguvel (3) GM Smbat Lputian (3.5) beat M.S.Thejkumar (2.5) GM Koneru Humpy (3) drew with GM R.B.Ramesh (3) GM Sandipan Chanda (3.5) beat Oliver Barbosa (2.5) GM Tejas Bakre (3) drew with GM Adly Ahmed (3) Rolando Nolte (3) drew with GM Vladimir Dobrov (3) IM R.R.Laxman (2.5) lost to GM Ziaur Rahman (3.5) IM Sudhakar Babu (3) drew with GM Neelotpal Das(3) GM Krishnan Sasikiran (3) beat IM S.Satyapragyan (2) UNI BA KK GT GC2341

Please Wait while comments are loading...