Gilani to be sworn-in as Pak PM on March 25

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Islamabad, Mar 24: Pakistan Peoples Party's Prime Ministerial nominee Sayyed Yusuf Raza Gillani was elected the Leader of the House in the Pakistan National Assembly here today. He secured 264 votes against opponent, former Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhary Pervaiz Elahi, who only got 42 votes. The voting took place through a division.

Speaker Dr Fahmida Mirza said, ''Mr Gilani is declared the member who commanded majority of members in the National Assembly.'' As soon as the results were announced, the public gallery erupted with frenzied slogans of ''Long Live Bhutto'' by the PPP activists witnessing the proceedings. Mr Gillani would be administered oath tomorrow as the 15th Prime Minister of the country by President Gen (retd) Pervez Musharraf.


Please Wait while comments are loading...