Roy allocates portfolios to 11 ministers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Mar 21 (UNI) Chief Minister Donkupar Roy, heading the United Democratic Party-led Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) government, has equally distributed portfolios to all his 11 ministers.

The portfolios, which were distributed yesterday, have been given to two Deputy Chief Minister's Hoping Stone Lyngdoh and Timothy D Shira and nine Cabinet Ministers.

Dr Roy was sworn in on March 19 along with six cabinet ministers, while the remaining five were inducted yesterday after United Democratic Party MLA Bindo M Lanong was elected unopposed as Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

The MPA a combination of NCP (14) and UDP (11) is supported by Hill State People's Democratic Party (2) one each from the BJP and the Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement and two Independent MLAs, has have a total strength of 31 in the 60-member House currently 59, as election to Baghmara seat was countermanded due to the death of a candidate.

Chief Minister Roy retained Cabinet Affairs, Political, Personnel, Planning and departments not allotted to other ministers.

Deputy Chief Minister Hoping Stone Lyngdoh will take charge of Home (Police) and Public Work Department (Roads), while Deputy Chief Minister Timothy D.Shira has been allotted with Community and Rural Development, Art and Culture, Information Technology and Printing and Stationery.

Conrad K Sangma, son of former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno A.Sangma, will take charge of Finance, Power, Housing, Tourism and General Administration Department.

Paul Lyngdoh, retained Urban Affairs, Municipal and Sports and Youth Affairs portfolios which he held in the last MDA government.

He has also been given the charge of Parliamentary Affairs.

Lone BJP MLA AL Hek will look after Public Health Engineering, Communication, Home (Passport), Relief and Rehabilitation; John A Lyngdoh has been allotted with Taxation, PWD (Building), Food and Civil Supplies and Secretariat Administration Department.

EC Bamon will take charge of Agriculture, Minor Irrigation, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Revenue. Nimarson Momin has been allotted with Social Welfare, Transport, Soil and Water Conservation, Civil Defence and Home Guard.

The Chief Minister also alloted Health and Family Welfare, Horticulture, Re-organisation and Elections portfolios to his youngest cabinet minister Dr Adviser Pariong.

The Department of Higher and Technical Education, Information and Public Relations (IPR), Stamps and Registration has been allotted to journalist-turned-politician, Manas Chaudhuri (IND). Don Kupar Massar (IND) will look after Mining and Geology, Excise, Weights and Measures and Border Trade.


Please Wait while comments are loading...