Saha unanimously elected Deputy Speaker in Tripura Assembly

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Mar 19: Newly elected CPI(M) Legislator Bhanu Lal Saha was today chosen as the Deputy Speaker in the 10th Tripura Legislative Assembly without any contest.

Mr Saha was the Left Front nominee, however, there was no nominee from the Opposition and Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath announced Mr Saha unanimously elected to the post. Mr Saha won the election for the first time by defeating Tripura Congress president and former Chief Minister Samir Ranjan Barman from Bishalgarh in West Tripura by 914 votes.

The 60-member Assembly comprises 49 Legislators of the Left Front, 10 of the Congress and only one member of the INPT.


Please Wait while comments are loading...