Assam representatives to Rajya Sabha win uncontested

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guwahati, Mar 19 (UNI) Assam Pradesh Congress Chief Bhubaneswar Kalita, BPF nominee Biswajit Daimary and AGP candidate Birendra Prasad Baishya were today declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha after expiry of the last date of withdrawal of nominations.

Returning officer of the RS Poll and Secretary of the state Assembly Gauranga Kumar Das made the announcement as all the three newly elected MPs were greeted by party colleagues.

The elections, slated for March 26, has become unnecessary with only three candidates filing papers for as many seats.

The Congress, besides its own candidate Mr Kalita, also extended support to Mr Daimary, the Bodoland People's Front (BPF) nominee.

The BPF is the coalition partner of the ruling Congress in the state.

The main Opposition Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), which had earned the consent of the Opposition parties to field a consensus candidate as part of their rotational basis, opted for former Union Minister Birendra Kumar Baishya.

The AGP had also claimed the support of four Independent MLAs, adding that negotiations were on to garner more support.

The three seats in Assam would be vacated by Dwijendranath Sarma, Karnendu Bhattacharjee and UG Brahma as their term expires of April 9.


Please Wait while comments are loading...