Poll dates for 195 cooperative committees announced

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 18: Uttar Pradesh government today announced election dates for 195 cooperative committees of cane development and sugar mills for delegates by April 24 and management committees by May 24.

The election was necessitated, following expiry of the two-year term of 167 cooperative cane development committees and 28 cooperative sugar mill committees.

The Mayawati government had reduced the term of the sugarcane cooperative development committees, dominated by the Samajwadi Party (SP) from the existing term of five-years to two-years late last year.

The last election for these committes for five-year term were held in April 2006, when the SP supported candidates had majority wins.

Announcing the date of the election, Registrar of the cooperative societies and Cane Commissioner, Kamran Rizvi here said all the district magistrates had been asked to complete the election of the delegates of the committees by April 24 and of the management committes by May 24.

Mr Rizvi also directed officials to hand over all the file and documents related to the elections to the returning officers appointed by the district magistrates.

Altogether, each of the 195 committes have about 250 to 300 delegates and these delegates will elect 11 to 12 directors. These directors will elect the Chairman among themselves. Two directors are also nominated by the government in each of the management committes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...