Disqualified MP is SP's choice for LS bypoll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 18 (UNI) The Samajwadi Party today fielded Bhal Chandra Yadav as its candidate for the Khalilabad Lok Sabha bypoll in Uttar Pradesh.

Mr Yadav and two other BSP MPs were disqualified by Speaker Somnath Chatterjee under the Anti-defection law on the grounds that they had voluntarily given up the membership of BSP and joined the Mulayam Singh Yadav-led SP in December, 2006.

Incidentally, Mr Yadav had represented Khalilabad in Lok Sabha till his disqualification.

The SP also announced the candidature of former minister Balram Yadav for the Azamgarh LS bypoll in UP and sitting MLA from Madhya Pradesh Dr Sunilam for the Baitual LS bypoll in MP.

The party has also fielded former MLAs --Yogesh Pratap Singh and Vishram Singh Yadav --for the Karnalganj and Bilgram assembly bypoll in UP respectively.


Please Wait while comments are loading...