Nine bioscientists awarded, 98 toppers get scholarships

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 17 (UNI) Nine young scientists were today honoured with the National Bioscience Awards for Career Development.

Each award consists of Rs one lakh and a trophy along with a project research grant of Rs nine lakh for three years.

The Awards were presented by Science and Technology Minister Kapil Sibal at a function to mark the 22nd Foundation Day of the Department of Biotechnology (DBT).

The awardees were Dr Amit Prakash Sharma (International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Delhi), Dr Bhaskar Saha (National Centre for Cell Science, Pune), Dr G Dhinakar Raj (Madras Veterinary College, Chennai), Dr Owais Mohammad (Aligarh Muslim University) and Dr Ranjan Sen (Center for DNA Fingerprinting&Diagnostics, Hyderabad).

Others were Dr Ramanathan Sowdhamini (National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore), Dr Srinivasan Ramachandran (Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi), Dr Snehasikta Swarnakar (Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata) and Dr Tilak Raj Sharma (Indian Agricultural Research Institute, Delhi).

Mr Sibal also gave away DBT biology scholarships to 98 students who topped the merit list in Biology and Biotechnology from CBSE, CISCE and State Boards.

Of the 98 awardees, 44 were from CBSE, four from CISCE , two each from 24 state boards and one each from the remaining two state boards.

Each of them received Rs 20,000, a gold-plated medal and a certificate.


Please Wait while comments are loading...