All RS and Bihar Legislative Council nominations found valid

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Mar 17: Nominations of all the six candidates for the biennial election to five Rajya Sabha seats from the state and that of ten candidates for nine Bihar Legislative Council seats were found valid today after scrutiny.

Bihar Assembly Secretary-cum-Returning Officer Surendra Prasad Sharma told newsmen here that nomination papers of all the Rajya Sabha candidates including those of former state Minister Shivanand Tiwari, former Planning Commission member N K Singh of the ruling JD(U), former Union Health Minister C P Thakur (BJP) and Union Company Affairs Minister Prem Chandra Gupta as the RJD candidate, were found valid after scrutiny.

Nomination of Dr Ezaz Ali, who had filed his papers as JD (U) candidate for the lone by-election to the Rajya Sabha seat, being held following the death of Motiur Rehman of the RJD, was also found valid.

The nomination papers of all the ten candidates for nine Bihar Legislative Council seats were also found valid.

After today's scrutiny, the last date for withdrawal of papers was March 19 and elections, if necessary, would simultaneously be held on March 26, Mr Sharma informed.


Please Wait while comments are loading...