Tamil Nadu: Cong candidates files RS papers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Mar 15: Congress nominees, Union Minister G K Vasan and party spokesperson Jayanthi Natarajan today filed their nomination papers for the March 26 Rajya Sabha elections from Tamil Nadu assembly.

The two candidates, accompanied by party senior leaders, filed their papers before Returning Officer and Assembly secretary M Selvaraj in the presence of Chief Minister and DMK President M Karunanidhi at the Secretariat. TNCC President M Krishnasamy and party MPs and MLAs were among others who were present when the two candidates filed their papers on the last day for filing of papers today.

Mr Vasan, whose term ends on April two, has been renominated, while Ms Natarajan has been nominated for a record fourth time to the Upper House.

With this, all the five candidates in the DMK led alliance have filed their papers. DMK nominees A A Jinnah and Vasanthi Stanley had filed their papers on March 12, while CPI(M) candidate T K Rengarajan had filed his papers yesterday. AIADMK candidate N Balaganga had also filed his papers on March 12.

As of now, there are six candidates in the fray to fill up the six vacancies and it remains to be seen whether the AIADMK would field one more candidate to force a contest.

The MDMK had already turned down its offer of one seat.

The two party combine had 32 excess votes after casting 34 minimum votes for Mr Balaganga, still two short for victory for the second candidate.

Elections, if necesary, would be held on March 26 to fill up six vacancies. The tenure of Mr Vasan (Congress), R Shanmugasundaram (DMK), Advocate N Jothi, Thanga Tamilselvan, Syed Khan and Perumal (AIADMK) expires on April two.


Please Wait while comments are loading...