Cadidates to be elected unopposed to RS

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Mar 15 (UNI) Five Congress candidates and one TDP candidate are likely be elected unopposed from Andhra Pradesh in the biennial Rajya Sabha election.

The Congress High Command today cleared Dr K V P Ramachandra Rao, a confident of Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy and T Ratnabai, a former MLA from Yellavaram in East Godawari district as the party nominees. The party had earlier renominated Union Minister for State T Subbirami Reddy and a member from the Madiga community and the dominant sect of the Scheduled Caste N Yellaiah, besides M A Khan, as its candidates.

The TDP Polit Buro had named former Andhra Pradesh minister N Harikrishna as a safe bet to wriggle out from the tremendous pressure within the party, pushing under the carpet the demand from BCs and Dalits for a nomination.


Please Wait while comments are loading...