BJD, BJP and Congress candidates to be elected to RS unopposed

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Mar 15 (UNI) All the four candidates, two from the ruling Biju Janata Dal and one each from the BJP and Congress, are all likely to be elected unopposed in the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from Orissa.

Orissa Assembly sources said Binod Mishra today filed his nomination paper but his paper will be rejected during the scrutiny as the nomination paper was filed without any proposer.

While former Minister Mangala Kissan and former Ganjam Zilla Parishad Chairperson Renubala Pradhan had filed their nominations as BJD candidates, former Rajya Sabha member and INTUC Orissa unit president Ramachandra Khuntia had submitted his papers as Congress candidate.

The BJP had fielded Mr Balbir Punj for the seat.

Four members of Rajya Sabha from the state would be retiring after completing their terms.

They were Mr Surendra Lath of BJP, Ms Pramila Bohidar and Ms Sushri Devi of BJD and Mr Dillip Ray (Independent).


Please Wait while comments are loading...